Roe is Overturned And the Left Thinks It’s the end of the World

In the past I have written about how one argues with a liberal.

The liberal says, “Well, what about this?” You answer factually. You get, “I don’t want to talk about it” — ignoring the fact that he was the one who brought it up.

Or, “Where did you hear that? I never heard that” — never questioning why he never heard about it.

So when I am sitting down with a reasonable person who does not shut me up every time I try to say something, I feel compelled to try logically and with calm reason to answer questions. More on this in a bit.

Now with Roe this becomes next to impossible because opinions on the subject are so fixed in cement, they allow no arguments. Such an emotional issue. And that goes for both sides. As I have said before, many, many times, conservatives are nicer, more considerate and easier to argue with. But when it comes to this issue, all bets are off. I have dealt with pro lifers who were immensely rude and insufferable. I dealt with a Jesuit priest, and they are supposed to be the most human and sensitive, and he was so insulting to me and dictatorial that I said to myself, if this is what being pro life is, count me out. He was like an Ayatollah in his closed mindedness.

My opinions on abortion are all over the map. I recognize that what is in that womb is a baby, at once. But there are many circumstances when I would not have an objection to an abortion. (I think I just lost half of you already.) I wish every baby could be a wanted baby and not be aborted. But rape, incest and health of the mother are almost universally going to be acceptable reasons for ending a pregnancy.

I once asked my Rabbi about this and he answered, “In Judaism the known is more important than the unknown.” That means the mother must be saved if it is between her and the baby.

If my child had a bad amnio, I would not object if she chose to have an abortion. And if a woman could not afford the ten children she already has, I would happily relieve her of the eleventh if there was no other option and if I knew how to scrape it out.

Here are two interesting things. They go with my thesis that conservatives are nicer than liberals.

Once I was sitting at breakfast with Ralph Reed and his wife. And I spent almost two hours haranguing him about abortion and how it is not an easy one size fits all kind of thing. There are ramifications. His wife said, “Whatever G-d sends to us, we will happily take into our family.” They were agreed on their pro life opinions.

You would expect him, a pro life true believer, to become angry with me as I relayed my shocking opinions to hm about abortion. He was cordial and listened attentively to me that whole time. At the end he smiled broadly and told me, “You are not as far apart from me in your beliefs as you think.”

That was astonishing.

Another time William Buckley wrote an article showing disdain for people who abort their babies. I had the audacity to answer him. I told him, “You do not have the right to tell a woman she must have her baby unless you are personally going to take on the responsibility of the care of what you have inflicted on that mother for the rest of her life.”

Instead of dismissing me as a kook, Buckley took my sentence seriously. I couldn’t believe it. He gave up the entire next issue of National Review to present every single point of view about abortion. Now THAT is a great man.

Back to my reasonable liberal friend. She and I were going at it hot and heavy about the overturning of Roe. She said it was wrong and if I didn’t think that, then I am wrong, too. I told her she was wrong.

I told her there are two different things to consider. You must separate the law, the Constitution and what the Court’s mandate is from your personal grievance over this decision being overturned.

She did not want to hear what I wanted to say. I told her nothing is going to change. This was bad law when it was originally decided and it has merely been righted now. I went through the three branches of the government and their separate functions. She actually let me talk and listened to me. We have had many arguments and she knows I know my facts and can present my arguments and she is amazed at my good memory. So she does want to learn even thought she was so strong on this issue. But she did let me talk just to see if I could move her even an inch.

I told her the Supreme Court is not a legislature. When the Federalist Papers were showing up, they were trying to convince all the thirteen states that they would keep their sovereignty. So I reminded her that we are not and never have been a democracy. We are a Constitutional Republic. Laws are passed by the legislatures of the states or by Congress. When the Supreme Court made Roe, they overstepped the court’s powers. They went against the Constitution, which gives lawmaking authority only to legislatures. So all that was done in overturning Roe is the overturning of a bad and wrongly adjudicated precedent and the righting of a terrible wrong.

I tried to console her that nothing much was going to change. That now rightfully, the states legislatures would regain what was their power in the first place. She was not convinced and thought it was horrible that something that was settled was now going to ruin people’s lives.

My feeling is there is contraception, the pill and anyway, if you don’t want to get pregnant, don’t have sex.

Then she took a different tack because she saw we were never going to agree and she changed the subject, asking me, “Don’t you think the Christian right was very important in getting Roe overturned?” This is what she is reading and listening to. The horrors of the religious right. I used language that would be easy for her. Then time ran out and we had to go home and our discussion ended. I hadn’t answered her on her question so I wrote to her and told her this:

There were lobbyists and there was pressure from interest groups on both sides of this contentious issue from the moment Roe was wrongfully decided. And both sides felt threatened and never gave up fighting for their cause. (Today pro choice advocates are going so far as to destroying centers that try to help pregnant women find other alternatives to abortion. The extremists and destroyers today are 95% on the pro abortion side.)

IMPORTANT!

Our Constitution says we have rights given to us by G-d and they are inalienable which means no one can take them away from us. The Constitution is our source and all things spring from it. There are lots of people who want to ignore it, or worse turn their backs on it. They say things like these are all white men in white wigs who were slaveholders from hundreds of years ago. How could anything they said or did be of relevance to us? This is the kind of thinking that is destroying our free country and it is being taught on campuses everywhere, and in regular schools, too.

The point is human nature is human nature and so it has been since the dawn of man. Ideas are what matter, not who said them or what those who said them did.

Our Constitution is predicated on the experiment to break the pattern of tyranny.

The magic of it is that “We, the people”, get to have the power. This is an earth shattering idea. Such an experiment had never been tried and it was brilliant in the extreme and should NEVER be undone. But there are always those who want the power themselves. They are sure THEY are right.

Progressives believe it is okay to trash the Constitution and they will fix everything and show you what is right.

Do not listen to them or follow them ever. The Constitution is what we need and we must rely on it all the time.

Conservatives say whatever we do not agree on, we have the right to argue it and come to a consensus and make laws in legislatures using our representatives, and we can undo those laws through the same means, when we think they are wrong. It is people who talk like that who must always have the power in this country.

Going on – our inalienable rights were enumerated. They were life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.

Compromises had to be made to get the thing signed by all thirteen colonies. And it took thousands of Americans decades later losing their lives in a bloody war to fix the biggest compromise, slavery being legal. But at least we did that. Be proud of that.

We were not the first slave holders in history. But we were the first to fight and die to try to eradicate it.

Going back, among our rights are life, liberty… The FIRST one named is life. And to more than half the population this begins in the womb. And that is the thing of highest importance to many, many in this country.

And it may shock you, but nevertheless it is true that more Americans believe what I wrote just above than the numbers of those who believe in choice. And the trouble with the choice movement is, like everything on the left, they go so far that they make more enemies than friends for their side.

In Virginia the previous governor bragged that abortion rights should go even up to when a woman delivers a baby. They should keep the baby comfortable and give the woman time to consider if she still wants the baby and if she doesn’t, they should kill it. Abortion AFTER birth. Cute?

Pro abortionists want the procedure available until the end of pregnancy. That is insane. They keep losing supporters because they go too far. Most Americans want at least some restrictions.

The pro abortionists became absolutists, believing that any compromise on this is a surrender of “rights.” There are absolutists on both sides. We don’t want either side’s extremists to hold sway.

My guess is the consensus will become something like abortions will be legal up to fifteen weeks, or twenty weeks, and will be made acceptable as such and legal in most states. And in cases of rape and incest and the life of the mother, abortion will be permitted.

There will be states that get more stringent. And if it’s a popular idea in that state, they will have harsher laws. But if the people of that state do not agree with that rigidity, they will vote for legislators who will be less rigid. And if they instead vote for the same legislators, it will be because they agree with what their legislators have made the law. If you don’t like that law, you might not want to live in that state.

People are moving every minute now, mostly from blue states to red states. (How my side got to be red, I will never know. Who made that choice? Red is communist. Big joke.)

So to review, yes, Christians fought for Roe to be overturned because most Christians believe life has to be preserved as much as possible. There are alternatives; adoption is a big one. Their thought is taking of a life, even in the womb, is wrong, even a blasphemy. And they are sickened by the hundreds of thousands of abortions being chosen every year, with dead babies as garbage. It is a known fact that now Planned Parenthood sells parts from aborted babies for medical experiments – so – -recycled garbage.

(It is also a known fact that Planned Parenthood began as an organization with the purpose to kill as many minority babies as possible. That was encouraged to help in Eugenics, cleaning up the society and ridding it of the unwanted elements in it.)

On the other side, your side, the argument is that your birthday is celebrated for the day you are born, not while you are in the womb. So no one acknowledges you as a person until you are born. And no benefits come to the baby in the womb; there is no Social Security number until AFTER you are born. You are not acknowledged as a person until after you are born. So on that score, the government and most everyone seems to be taking your side.

So the answer to your question is that Christians and others who believe it is life immediately felt it their duty to spend as much effort as possible to get Roe overturned.

And, believe me, there was as much effort from the pro choice people to keep Roe going.

The Court has the job of trying to remain neutral to political pressure. They are supposed to rely only on the Constitution to interpret the law.

This Court with three new strict readers of the Constitution on it, helps Trump’s popularity. You may think it hurts him because you are against overturning Roe, but I promise you it will be considered by a majority of the Americans just another of Trump’s greatest gifts to us.

If Biden packs the Court, he will be destroying our liberty once again and in the worst way, and will begin the demise of America, which he has already been in the process of doing anyway.



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About us

For lack of a better term, we are misfits, irritable, but lovable, constitutional conservatives who loathe and detest collectivists and statists of all persuasions and parties…

Newsletter